Election conditions

Municipal elections

Conditions to vote

To vote in municipal elections, voters must:

  1. be at least 18 years of age on election day;
  2. enjoy civic rights and not have forfeited voting rights in the member state or in either their country of residence or in their home country;
  3. for Luxembourg nationals, be domiciled in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg;
  4. for nationals of another EU Member State, be domiciled in the Grand Duchy and have resided there for at least five years, of which the last year of residence immediately prior to the request for registration on the electoral list must be uninterrupted;
  5. for other foreign nationals, be domiciled in the Grand Duchy and have resided there for at least five years, of which the last year of residence immediately prior to the request for registration on the electoral list must be uninterrupted.

Conditions to be a candidate

The law of 13 February 2011 has extended the right to stand as a candidate in the municipal elections to all foreign nationals, while in the municipal elections of October 2005, only nationals of other EU Member States could be candidates.

To stand for election one must:

  1. be at least 18 years of age on election day;
  2. enjoy their civil rights and not have been stripped of the right to stand as a candidate either in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg or in their State of origin;
  3. have their usual residence in the municipality, i.e., they must have been living ordinarily for at least 6 months in the commune at the time of filing their candidate application.

For foreign nationals, they must also have resided in Luxembourg, at the time when they submit their candidacy, for at least five years, of which the last year immediately prior to the submission of candidacy must be uninterrupted. To support their candidacy, foreign nationals must produce a statement specifying their nationality and address in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, and that they are not stripped of the right to stand for election in their home country, a valid ID as well as a certificate confirming their period of residence in the Grand Duchy.

Conditions de l'électorat

Élections communales

Conditions pour être électeur

Pour être électeur aux élections communales, il faut:

  1. être âgé de 18 ans accomplis au jour des élections;
  2. jouir des droits civils et ne pas être déchu du droit de vote dans l'État de résidence ou dans l'État d’origine;
  3. pour les Luxembourgeois, être domicilié dans le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg;
  4. pour les ressortissants d’un autre Etat membre de l’Union européenne, être domicilié dans le Grand-Duché et y avoir résidé pendant au moins cinq années, dont la dernière année de résidence précédant immédiatement la demande d’inscription sur la liste électorale doit être ininterrompue;
  5. pour les autres ressortissants étrangers, être domicilié dans le Grand-Duché et y avoir résidé pendant au moins cinq années, dont la dernière année de résidence précédant immédiatement la demande d’inscription sur la liste électorale doit être ininterrompue.

Conditions pour être candidat

La loi du 13 février 2011 a élargi le droit d'éligibilité aux élections communales à tous les résidents étrangers, alors qu'aux élections communales d'octobre 2005, seulement les ressortissants des autres États membres de l'Union européenne pouvaient être candidat.

Pour être éligible, il faut:

  1. être âgé de 18 ans accomplis au jour de l'élection;
  2. jouir des droits civils et ne pas être déchu du droit d'éligibilité dans le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg ou dans l'État d'origine;
  3. avoir sa résidence habituelle depuis 6 mois dans la commune lors du dépôt de sa candidature, c'est-à-dire y habiter d'ordinaire.

Pour les ressortissants étrangers, il faut en outre avoir résidé sur le territoire luxembourgeois, au moment du dépôt de la candidature, pendant au moins cinq années, dont la dernière année de résidence précédant immédiatement le dépôt de la candidature prévue par la présente loi doit être ininterrompue. Le ressortissant étranger doit produire à l'appui de sa candidature une déclaration précisant sa nationalité et son adresse au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg et qu'il n’est pas déchu du droit d'éligibilité dans son État d'origine, un document d'identité en cours de validité ainsi qu'un certificat documentant la durée de résidence au Grand-Duché.