Electoral lists

What requirements need to be met in order to vote in municipal elections?

To vote in municipal elections, voters must:

  • be at least 18 years of age on the day of elections;
  • enjoy civil rights and not have been stripped of the right to vote in either their country of residence or in their home country. The second condition cannot, however, be applied to non-Luxembourg citizens who have lost the right to vote in their country of origin due to residency abroad;
  • for Luxembourg nationals, be domiciled in the Grand Duchy;
  • for nationals of another EU Member State, be domiciled in the Grand Duchy and have resided there for at least five years, of which the last year of residence immediately prior to the request for registration on the electoral list must be uninterrupted;
  • for other foreign nationals, be domiciled in the Grand Duchy and have resided there for at least five years, of which the last year of residence immediately prior to the request for registration on the electoral list must be uninterrupted.

The following persons are excluded from the electorate and are not allowed to vote:

  • people who have been convicted of criminal offences;
  • people who, for lesser offences, have been stripped of the right to vote following a conviction;
  • adults under guardianship.
Under which name am I registered on electoral lists?

Married or widowed voters are registered under their surname and first names - maiden name for women - followed by, if they wish, the addition of spouse or widow, followed by the surname and first names of the spouse.

How to file a claim in the context of electoral lists?

Electoral lists are temporarily established by the College of Aldermen 87 days prior to polling day. The lists are submitted for public inspection, either to the secretariat of the municipality or to the place where meetings of the municipal council are held from the 86th to the 79th day prior to polling day. Any citizen may file a complaint with the College of Aldermen arising from the electoral lists up to the 79th day at the latest before polling day.

A notice invites citizens to produce, up to the 79th day at the latest before polling day, against a receipt, the titles of those who have the right to appear on the lists in force but are not registered on them. The notice also mentions that to be admissible before the Administrative Court, a complaint regarding the registration of a voter must first be submitted for consideration to the College of Aldermen along with all the supporting documents.

Do I need to de-register from the electoral lists of my municipality in the event of relocation?

No. In the case of a change of domicile, the transfer of the right to vote in the new municipality is mandatory. The mayor of the former municipality notifies the change of domicile to the new municipality. The mayor of the municipality where the elector establishes their new residence adds the elector to that municipality's electoral list. The mayor of the municipality where the elector had their former residence strikes the elector off that municipality's electoral roll.

Last update

Listes électorales

Quelles sont les conditions pour pouvoir voter aux élections communales?

Pour être électeur aux élections communales, il faut:

  • être âgé de 18 ans accomplis au jour des élections;
  • jouir des droits civils et ne pas être déchu du droit de vote dans l’Etat de résidence ou dans l’Etat d’origine. Cette dernière condition ne peut toutefois pas être opposée à des citoyens non-luxembourgeois qui, dans leur pays d’origine, ont perdu le droit de vote en raison de leur résidence en dehors de leur Etat d’origine;
  • pour les Luxembourgeois, être domicilié au Grand-Duché;
  • pour les ressortissants d’un autre Etat membre de l’Union européenne, être domicilié dans le Grand-Duché et y avoir résidé pendant au moins cinq années, dont la dernière année de résidence précédant immédiatement la demande d’inscription sur la liste électorale doit être ininterrompue;
  • pour les autres ressortissants étrangers, être domicilié dans le Grand-Duché et y avoir résidé pendant au moins cinq années, dont la dernière année de résidence précédant immédiatement la demande d’inscription sur la liste électorale doit être ininterrompue.

Sont exclus de l’électorat et ne peuvent pas être admis au vote:

  • les personnes condamnées à des peines criminelles;
  • les personnes qui, en matière correctionnelle, sont privées du droit de vote par condamnation;
  • les majeurs en tutelle.
Sous quel nom suis-je inscrit sur les listes électorales?

Les électeurs mariés ou veufs sont inscrits sous leur nom et leurs prénoms – nom de jeune fille pour les femmes – suivi, s’ils le désirent, de l’adjonction époux ou épouse, veuf ou veuve de, suivi du nom et des prénoms du conjoint.

Comment formuler une réclamation face aux listes électorales?

Les listes électorales sont provisoirement arrêtées par le collège des bourgmestre et échevins 87 jours avant le jour du scrutin. Les listes sont déposées à l’inspection du public, soit au secrétariat de la commune, soit dans le local où se déroulent les séances du conseil communal du 86e-79e jour avant le jour du scrutin. Tout citoyen peut adresser au collège des bourgmestre et échevins toutes réclamations auxquelles les listes électorales pourraient donner lieu jusqu’au 79e jour avant le jour du scrutin au plus tard.

L’avis invite tout citoyen de produire, jusqu’au 79e jour avant le jour du scrutin au plus tard, contre récépissé, les titres de ceux qui, n’étant pas inscrits sur les listes en vigueur, ont le droit d’y figurer. L’avis mentionne en outre qu’une réclamation tendant à l’inscription d’un électeur, pour être recevable devant la Cour administrative, doit avoir été soumise au préalable au collège des bourgmestre et échevins avec toutes les pièces justificatives.

Dois-je me faire radier des listes électorales de ma commune en cas de déménagement?

Non. En cas de changement de domicile, le transfert du droit de vote dans la nouvelle commune est obligatoire. Le bourgmestre de la commune de départ notifie le changement de domicile à la commune d’arrivée. Le bourgmestre de la nouvelle résidence porte l’électeur sur la liste électorale de la nouvelle résidence. Le bourgmestre de la commune de départ le raye de la liste électorale de cette commune.

Dernière mise à jour