Questions and answers - Municipal elections

What are the deadlines to apply for postal voting for municipal elections?

If the polling card needs to be sent to an address based in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the request must be submitted online or be sent by post to the College of Aldermen ("collège des bourgmestre et échevins"), under penalty of lapse, at the earliest 12 weeks and at the latest 25 days prior to the election date.

If the polling card needs to be sent to an address abroad, the deadline for applying is 40 days at the latest prior to election day.

What are the 2 different election modes?

Each municipality or part of a municipality with regard to certain municipalities resulting from a merger form an electoral constituency. All the voters of a municipality participate in the election of members of the municipal council.

In municipalities of the Grand Duchy with a population of under 3,000 inhabitants, elections take place according to the system of relative majority. Each voter has as many votes as there are councillors to elect. Voters vote by writing a cross (+ or x) in the box reserved for this purpose after the name of each candidate for whom they vote.

In municipalities with at least 3,000 inhabitants, elections take place according to the proportional voting system. Each voter has as many votes as there are councillors to elect. They may allocate two votes to each of the candidates, up to the total number of votes that they may cast. By filling out the white circle of the box at the top of the list, voters allocate one vote to each candidate on that list. Each box ticked (+ or x) after the name of a candidate counts as one vote for that candidate.

As a Luxembourg national domiciled abroad, am I obliged to vote?

Luxembourg nationals must be domiciled in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg to vote in municipal elections. 

What shall I do if I am unable to vote on election day?

Those who are unable to vote in the election must explain the reason for their absence to their local State Prosecutor, and provide the necessary supporting documents. Unjustified abstentions are punishable by a fine. In the event of repeat offences, the penalty is increased.

The following persons have the right to be excluded:

  • voters who, at the time of the election, live in a municipality other than the one in which they are supposed to vote;
  • voters who are over 75 years of age.
What requirements need to be met in order to vote in municipal elections?

To vote in municipal elections, voters must:

  • be at least 18 years of age on the day of elections;
  • enjoy civil rights and not have been stripped of the right to vote in either their country of residence or in their home country. The second condition cannot, however, be applied to non-Luxembourg citizens who have lost the right to vote in their country of origin due to residency abroad;
  • for Luxembourg nationals, be domiciled in the Grand Duchy;
  • for nationals of another EU Member State, be domiciled in the Grand Duchy and have resided there for at least five years, of which the last year of residence immediately prior to the request for registration on the electoral list must be uninterrupted;
  • for other foreign nationals, be domiciled in the Grand Duchy and have resided there for at least five years, of which the last year of residence immediately prior to the request for registration on the electoral list must be uninterrupted.

The following persons are excluded from the electorate and are not allowed to vote:

  • people who have been convicted of criminal offences;
  • people who, for lesser offences, have been stripped of the right to vote following a conviction;
  • adults under guardianship.
I am a non-Luxembourgish citizen and I have voted in the last municipal elections, am I obliged to register again?

If a foreign national is registered to vote, they will remain registered under the same conditions as Luxembourgish voters (should they move, they do not need to re-register), until they ask to be removed or until they are officially removed because they no longer meet the eligibility criteria.

Last update

Questions et réponses - Elections communales

Quels sont les délais à respecter pour faire la demande du vote par correspondance pour les élections communales?

Si la lettre de convocation doit être envoyée à une adresse située au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, la demande doit être déposée électroniquement ou parvenir par envoi postal au collège des bourgmestre et échevins, sous peine de déchéance, au plus tôt 12 semaines et au plus tard 25 jours avant le jour du scrutin.

Si la lettre de convocation doit être envoyée à une adresse se situant à l’étranger, le délai pour faire la demande est de 40 jours au plus tard avant le jour du scrutin.

Quels sont les 2 modes d'élections différents?

Chaque commune ou section de commune en ce qui concerne certaines communes issues d’une fusion forme une circonscription électorale. Tous les électeurs d'une commune concourent ensemble à l'élection des membres du conseil communal.

Dans les communes du Grand-Duché dont la population est inférieure à 3.000 habitants, les élections communales se font d'après le système de la majorité relative. Chaque électeur dispose d'autant de suffrages qu'il y a de conseillers à élire au conseil communal. L'électeur exprime son vote en traçant une croix (+ ou x) dans la case réservée à la suite du nom de chacun des candidats pour lesquels il vote.

Dans les communes qui comprennent 3.000 habitants au moins, les élections se font au scrutin de liste avec représentation proportionnelle. Chaque électeur dispose d'autant de suffrages qu'il y a de conseillers à élire. Il peut attribuer deux suffrages à chacun des candidats jusqu'à concurrence du total des suffrages dont il dispose. L'électeur qui remplit le cercle blanc de la case placée en tête d'une liste adhère à cette liste en totalité et attribue ainsi un suffrage à chacun des candidats de cette liste. Chaque croix (+ ou x) inscrite dans l'une des deux cases réservées derrière le nom des candidats vaut un suffrage à ce candidat.

En tant que Luxembourgeois domicilié à l’étranger, puis-je aller voter?

Pour être électeur aux élections communales, il faut, pour les Luxembourgeois, être domicilié au Grand-Duché. 

Que faire si je ne peux pas aller voter le jour des élections?

Ceux qui se trouvent dans l'impossibilité de prendre part au scrutin doivent faire connaître leurs motifs d'abstention au procureur d'Etat territorialement compétent, avec les justifications nécessaires. L'abstention non justifiée est punie d'une amende. La sanction s'aggrave en cas de récidive.

Sont excusés de droit:

  • les électeurs qui au moment de l’élection habitent une autre commune que celle où ils sont appelés à voter;
  • les électeurs âgés de plus de 75 ans.
Quelles sont les conditions pour pouvoir voter aux élections communales?

Pour être électeur aux élections communales, il faut :

  • être âgé de 18 ans accomplis au jour des élections;
  • jouir des droits civils et ne pas être déchu du droit de vote dans l’Etat de résidence ou dans l’Etat d’origine. Cette dernière condition ne peut toutefois pas être opposée à des citoyens non-luxembourgeois qui, dans leur pays d’origine, ont perdu le droit de vote en raison de leur résidence en dehors de leur Etat d’origine;
  • pour les Luxembourgeois, être domicilié au Grand-Duché;
  • pour les ressortissants d’un autre Etat membre de l’Union européenne, être domicilié dans le Grand-Duché et y avoir résidé pendant au moins cinq années, dont la dernière année de résidence précédant immédiatement la demande d’inscription sur la liste électorale doit être ininterrompue;
  • pour les autres ressortissants étrangers, être domicilié dans le Grand-Duché et y avoir résidé pendant au moins cinq années, dont la dernière année de résidence précédant immédiatement la demande d’inscription sur la liste électorale doit être ininterrompue.

Sont exclus de l’électorat et ne peuvent pas être admis au vote:

  • les personnes condamnées à des peines criminelles;
  • les personnes qui, en matière correctionnelle, sont privées du droit de vote par condamnation;
  • les majeurs en tutelle.
Je suis non-Luxembourgeois et j’ai voté aux dernières élections communales, suis-je obligé de me réinscrire?

Dès qu'un électeur étranger est inscrit sur les listes électorales, il y est maintenu dans les mêmes conditions que l'électeur luxembourgeois (en cas de déménagement, il n’est donc pas nécessaire d’enregistrer une nouvelle inscription sur les listes électorales), jusqu'à ce qu’il demande à être rayé ou jusqu'à ce qu’il soit rayé d’office parce qu’il ne répond plus aux conditions requises pour l’exercice du droit de vote.

Dernière mise à jour